Leadership is important

City Council: Our Team Leaders are the best in their fields

The City Council is composed of a Mayor and five Councilmembers. Two (2) of the five (5) City Councilmembers are elected from District l, two (2) from District 2 and one (1) from the City at large. The Mayor is elected by the qualified voters of the entire City. Elections for Mayor and Councilmembers are non-partisan and are held in November of odd-numbered years. Councilmembers and the Mayor are elected for four-year terms. The City of Laurinburg uses the Council-Manager form of government based on State law. The elected Council hires the Manager to run the day-to-day operations of the City.

The City Council appoints several boards and commissions as well as various advisory committees and task forces which are created from time to time. If you are interested in serving on a board or committee, applications for boards and committees should be mailed to the City Clerk, P.O. Box 249, Laurinburg, NC 28353, or delivered to Clerk’s office at 303 West Church Street.

Regular meetings are held on the first Tuesday after the 15th day of each month. All meetings are held in the Council Chambers located at 303 West Church Street.  Holidays and other events may affect the regular meeting schedule; therefore, the City Council may fix another day in the month for its regular meeting.

James (Jim) T. Willis

James (Jim) T. Willis


308 Prince Street
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Phone: (910) 318-1951
Term expires 11/2027

Mary Jo Adams

Mary Jo Adams

District Two

1101 Taylor Circle
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Cell Phone: (910) 280-4491
Term Expires: 11/2027

Mary Evans

Mary Evans

Mayor Pro Tem, District One

401 Sugar Road,
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Phone: (910) 373-1203
Term Expires: 11/2025

Barbara C. Rogers

Barbara C. Rogers

At Large

1012 McGirts Bridge Road
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Phone: (910) 384-6660
Term Expires: 11/2025

Rosemary Rainer

Rosemary Rainer

District One

906 Isabelle Street
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Phone: (910) 276-5025
Term Expires: 11/2027

Andrew G. Williamson, Jr.

Andrew G. Williamson, Jr.

District Two

103 Sterling Lane
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Phone: (910) 276-8082
Term Expires: 11/2025

Boards and Committees

  • Planning Board
  • Board of Adjustment
  • Beautification Committee
  • Crime & Drug Committee
  • Laurinburg/Maxton Airport Commission
  • Laurinburg Housing Authority

Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment’s purpose is to review appeals of the City’s Unified Development Ordinance. A deviation, known as a variance, may be granted by the Board if compliance with the ordinance would create a hardship on the applicant. The Board consists of five (5) members, four of which are City residents and appointed by the City Council, and one (1) resident from the Extraterritorial Jurisdiction (ETJ) area who is appointed by the Scotland County Board of Commissioners. There are also two (2) alternates (one from the City and one from the ETJ) who participate in the meetings only if one of the regular members is unable to attend a meeting. The City Alternate member can sit in lieu of another City member, and the ETJ Alternate member can sit in lieu of the ETJ member. The Board of Adjustment meets on an as needed basis.

Board of Adjustment Members

City Appointees

David Ellison, Jr.

Linda Douglas

County Appointees

Penny Myers Craner 

Larry Lanier (Alternate)

Planning Board

The Planning Board of the City of Laurinburg serves as an advisory board to consider zoning and planning matters for the City. The Board is comprised of seven (7) members, four (4) of which live within the City and are appointed by the City Council, and three (3) which live within the Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Planning Area (ETJ) and are appointed by the Scotland County Board of Commissioners. All appointments are for three (3) year terms. There is no limit on successive terms. The Planning Board’s regular meetings are scheduled the Tuesday prior to the City Council meeting.

Planning Board Members

City Representatives

Charles “Scoofer” Jordan
12401 Lakewood Drive
910-276-7081 (Home)

Larry Everett
16141 Hillcrest Avenue
910-276-5939 (Home)

James Thomas
330 Sawdust Lane
910-276-5998 (Home)

Kathy Williamson (Vice Chairperson)
103 Sterling Lane
910-276-5743 (Home)

ETJ Representatives

Hal Jernigan (Chairperson)
8040 Scotch Meadows Drive
910-276-7388 (Home)

Ken Jackson
7941 Scotch Meadows Road
910-276-5318 (Home)